Meet Yaroslava Jordan, CAS Accounting and Operations Manager

Yaroslava Jordan

Welcome to the CAS Staff Spotlight, a column featuring members of the CAS staff. For this spotlight, we are proud to introduce you to Yaroslava Jordan. 

  • What do you do at the CAS?
    I oversee day-to-day financial operations and manage the accounting function of the CAS. I lead the operational planning and budget development process; produce and analyze financial reports that help leadership make informed business decisions; facilitate the annual financial audit; and monitor cash flows and investments.
  • What inspires you in your job? What do you most love about your job?
    My role touches on every aspect of the Society, which allows me to work with teams across all departments, explaining the story behind numbers, helping find solutions to business questions. Besides that, I enjoy working with a dedicated group of volunteers on the Finance Council, Investment Council, Audit Committee and Risk Management Committee from whom I learn a lot.
  • Describe your educational and professional background.
    I earned my BS in finance from George Mason University. Prior to joining CAS, I was a finance manager at the American Health Law Association, an educational organization devoted to legal issues in the health care field.
  • What is your favorite hobby outside of work?
    I love spending time outside with my husband and 3-year-old son. I also enjoy exploring new places, cooking delicious meals, catching up with friends or recharging with a book.
  • If you could visit any place in the world, where would you go and why?
    I love traveling and exploring new destinations, so normally it would be somewhere new that I haven’t visited before — places such as Peru, which I planned to visit, but the pandemic got in the way. However, now, the one place I would want to visit the most is my home country Ukraine. I cannot wait for the senseless war to be over, so I can pay a visit.
  • What would your colleagues find surprising about you?
    I have a bachelor’s degree from a university in Ukraine, and my first profession was an English teacher, although I mostly gained it to learn English. 
  • How would your friends and family describe you?
    I polled my friends and family to get these answers: outgoing, kind-hearted, driven, great listener, adventurous, foodie and Ukraine patriot.